Nations League draw: Bosnia to face Austria and Northern Ireland


  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

National football team of Bosnia and Herzegovina will play against Austria and Northern Ireland in League B of the inaugural UEFA Nations League. 

Robert Prosinecki’s team will open the competition with an away game in Northern Ireland on September 8. Three days later, Bosnia and Herzegovina will host Austria, while the remaining two matches will be played on October 15 (vs Northern Ireland) and November 15 (vs Austria).

Nations League will serve as part of the qualification process for the UEFA EURO 2020, awarding berths in the play-offs which will decide four of the 24 final tournament slots.

All 55 UEFA member associations were divided into the four leagues - 12 teams in League A, 12 teams in League B, 15 teams in League C and 16 teams in League D - according to their UEFA national team coefficients after the conclusion of the 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifiers.

Within those four leagues, teams were split again into groups, made up of either three or four teams.

Within each league, four teams will be promoted at the end of the cycle, while four teams will be relegated. League A group winners will qualify for the Final Four competition, which is to be played between June 5 and 9, 2019.

Meanwhile, qualifiers for the UEFA European Championship 2020 will commence in March 2019; teams will be split into five groups of five teams and five groups of six teams, with the four UEFA Nations League Final Four participants guaranteed to be drawn into groups of five teams.

The top two teams from the 10 groups will qualify automatically, while four more places at the finals will be awarded to play-off winners.

Four play-off spots will be given to each league of the UEFA National League: Top four-ranked teams from each league that do not qualify for UEFA EURO 2020 through ‘regular’ qualifications - a total of 16 teams - will enter play-offs in March 2020, with one EURO finals place on offer for each league.

Each play-off path will feature two single-leg semi-finals, and one single-leg final. The best-ranked team will host the fourth-ranked team, and the second-ranked team will host the third-ranked team. The host of the play-off final will be decided by a draw.