Statement issued by the EUD reads that citizens of Bosnia and Herzegovina will have to use an online application if they want to travel to the EU Member States. The same rule will apply to citizens of 60 other countries, which are not in the EU, but are visa-free - including Brazil, Canada, Israel, Japan, Macedonia, Montenegro, New Zealand, Serbia and the United States.

The EU has decided to introduce the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) in order to improve security at the Union’s external borders.

ETIAS is a completely electronic system which allows and keeps track of visitors from countries who do not need a visa to enter the Schengen Zone. The system will carry out a detailed security check of each applicant to determine whether they can be allowed to enter any Schengen Zone country. This travel authorization system will gather, keep track of, and update necessary information regarding visitors to make sure that these people are not a security threat.

European officials claim that ETIAS resembles the U.S. Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) - an automated system that determines the eligibility of visitors to travel to the United States under the Visa Waiver Program. ETIAS is expected to be in place by 2021.