Commenting on the agreement to form a new Council of Ministers in Bosnia and Herzegovina, Spokesperson for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy/European Neighborhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations Maja Kocijancic said that the agreement represented “an important step forward, first and foremost for the country and its citizens”.  

Kocijancic reminded that the agreement was facilitated by Head of the EU Delegation to Bosnia and Herzegovina and EU Special Representative Lars-Gunnar Wigemark, and underlined that “the formation of a government is crucial for the country’s advancement in the European Union integration process”.

The political parties have firmly committed to establish functioning authorities and to continue with the implementation of necessary legislative and socio-economic reforms, as well as with concrete steps in the key area of fighting corruption and organized crime”, she said.

To keep the necessary momentum, we expect the political leadership in Bosnia and Herzegovina to proceed with the formation of authorities and to enable the regular functioning of all institutions without further delay to ensure reform implementation in line with European standards and values”, Kocijancic concluded.

SNSD leader Milorad Dodik, SDA leader Bakir Izetbegovic and HDZ BiH leader Dragan Covic met in Sarajevo on Monday and reached an agreement on formation of the new Council of Ministers of Bosnia and Herzegovina. According to the agreement, the new CoM should be formed within the next 30 days.

Most Read

  • Week

  • Month

  • All