Renowned French filmmaker Michel Hazanavicius, an Academy Award winner for his acclaimed film ‘The Artist’, will preside over the Jury of the Competition Programme - Feature Film of the 26th Sarajevo Film Festival (SFF).

SFF Director Mirsad Purivatra described Hazanavicius as an author “known for his strong stylistic expression who always reexamines relationship with film, its language and history”. “We should not forget that in a new millennium his film ‘The Artist’ has made the entire world enjoy once again a supposedly outdated film format - silent film” said Purivatra.

As the president of the Jury of the 26th SFF, Hazanavicius joins the most acclaimed filmmakers who have presided over the jury in the past two decades: Mike Leigh (2004), Miki Manojlovic (2005), Jasmila Zbanic (2006), Jeremy Irons (2007), Nuri Bilge Ceylan (2008), Mirjana Karanovic (2009), Cristi Puiu (2010), Ari Folman (2011), Kornél Mundruczó (2012), Danis Tanovic (2013), Béla Tarr (2014), Călin Peter Netzer (2015), Elia Suleiman (2016), Michel Franco (2017), Asghar Farhadi (2018), and Ruben Östlund (2019).

52-year-old Hazanavicius is French film director, producer, screenwriter and film editor best known for his 2011 black-and-white silent film, ‘The Artist’, which won the Academy Award for Best Picture and Best Director at the 84th Academy Awards in 2012.

Hazanavicius Bejo Dujardin Oscars

‘The Artist’ tells the story of an egomaniacal film star who develops a relationship with a young dancer against the backdrop of Hollywood’s silent era. Jean Dujardin won the Academy Award for Best Actor; Bérénice Bejo was nominated for the best supporting actress, and the movie also won three Golden Globe Awards, seven BAFTA Awards, and the Best Actor Award for Dujardin at Cannes in 2011.

26th Sarajevo Film Festival will take place on August 14-21, 2020.